The Blog That Should Have Been

I deleted Sheena’s post with my drug induced ramblings. It should have never been published. I wanted my first blog post from the hospital to be thorough and explanatory, but I was too doped up to write what I wanted, and Sheena didn’t know what I wanted so she wrote a brief explanation of the situation at the time. What was written wasn’t wrong, but my blog is my baby. It’s so personal to me and I put a lot of effort into producing a story that people want to read that it didn’t really fit into my vision of what this space should be. So now I’ll tell you my story as I envisioned it. There may be parts that are slightly inaccurate or less detailed because in the past three weeks there were times when I was so sedated I don’t remember whole days. I guess I’m not the most reliable narrator, but it’s the truth even if it didn’t happen.

On September 30, I went into Florida Hospital for a bronchoscopy. My new doctor, Dr. Gries, wanted to see if there was any rejection, infections, and condition of my lungs. Although the bronch itself went well, the trauma of the procedure caused my lungs to totally fail. What else is new, right? They attempted to fix the situation by putting me on the CPAP, but my body was fighting the machine and the team immediately made the decision to intubate me, which is when they stick a tube into your mouth and down your throat to help your breathe. I was sedated and when I woke up that night, I was admitted to the hospital with the knowledge that the only way I was leaving was if I placed on the transplant list and received new lungs.

However, for that to happen I would have to go through a two-week cycle of treatment that involved chemotherapy, plasmapheresis (a process in which the liquid in the blood, or plasma, is separated from the cells. In sick people, plasma can contain antibodies that attack the immune system. A machine removes the affected plasma and replaces it with good plasma, or a plasma substitute) and an IV Immunoglobulin medicine to fight the antibodies that caused my rejection. I would not be allowed to be re-transplanted with antibodies because they would just attack the new lungs, thus making the life-saving surgery pointless.

So for two and a half weeks, I went through intense therapies that made me feel pretty crappy with the knowledge that I may not even be listed after all was said and done. I was having anxiety attacks every morning, physical therapy in the afternoons, and treatments in-between. There were times where I felt like giving up. I felt like it wasn’t worth it. I was going through a lot of pain and discomfort and there wasn’t a guarantee that I would receive a transplant. Even if I did receive lungs, I might not survive the surgery or recovery. I felt weak and defeated. I was so close to giving up.

But then I remembered the last year and a half. 2014/early 2015 was the best time of my life. I felt normal for the first time. I bought my first car with my own money. I finished a year of college. I finally dated people. I made great friends. I made plans for my future. I finally knew what it was like to live like I had a future. When I remembered how happy I had been, I realized that all of this would be worth it.

About a week and a half ago though, after finishing my therapies, my breathing became very labored and fighting the ventilator. They sedated me to relax my body, which allowed the ventilator to get back in control. After doing a CT scan, they realized my right lung was collapsed and decided to insert two chest tubes. My chest felt less pressured, but the chest tubes cause a lot of pain, so it was a catch 22. A few days later, my CO2 levels rose to very high levels, and the decision was made to place me on ECMO, an artificial lung machine, was made. I was moved down to the CVICU to await the news about being listed.

For the past week, I’ve been in the CVICU on a ventilator, with two chest tubes, reliance on the ECMO, and a feeding tube.I get tired easily. I love the idea of visitors, but some days are good and other days are bad. Sometimes I’m just not in the mood for visitors and it gets overwhelming, especially if it is someone I don’t know too well. I can’t speak because of the trache, so the visitor has to be comfortable with that as well. I know people mean well when they want to come visit, but sometimes the best thing is to just text me or wish me well. I also enjoy receiving cards (you can’t send flowers or other plants because of allergens). I appreciate everyone’s thoughts and prayers, so don’t take it personally if I ask you to not visit me on a specific day. The thought counts the most to me.

Now to the good news.

My transplant team came in today to inform me that they have decided to list me. My Lung Allocation Score is 91, which is really high. I could be transplanted within the next few weeks, so now its just a waiting game. I’m excited but nervous. Its strange being in this situation again. I know what waits for me on the other side of the surgery. I know that it will be tough and painful, but I also know that I can do it. I’ve done it before, so that eases my fears a little.

I want everyone to send good vibes to my future donor. You all call me amazing and inspirational, but its the donor and his/her family who deserve all the credit. They make the biggest sacrifice to save a stranger’s life and I don’t think there is anything more incredible than that.

9 thoughts on “The Blog That Should Have Been

  1. Jordan, you’re in our family’s prayers and in the prayers of our church. What an amazing writer you are even in the midst of all you’re going through…..very impressive. You’re such an incredibly smart, beautiful young woman. I love your attitude and your positive outlook. God clearly has great purpose for your life and He didn’t bring you this far to abandon you now. We all can’t wait for this to be behind you, and to be reading your next blog after you handle the next transplant like a boss!!

  2. Jordan I don’t know if you remember me but I junior coached you a long time ago. I’ve been following your blog since before you got your transplant and I just want to let you know I think you are so strong and brave. I am praying for you so hard right now. I hope those new lungs come soon so you can go back to living the life you love.

  3. Hi Jordan you sound wonderful! We all think of you often and are so proud of you! We are here for you and your family. If you ever need or want anything just let us know. Take Care Sweetheart The Banes

  4. Jordan,
    My daughter is 31 years old and a single mother of an 11-year old daughter. My daughter also has CF (thankfully, my granddaughter does not.)

    I have been following your posts since I stumbled across them in March, 2014. It was at that time that my daughter’s Pulmonologist (Dr Layish) advised her that she needed to begin searching for a transplant center willing to accept her for a transplant. We live in the Orlando area also and, as you know, by March 2014, FH was no longer doing lung transplants. We took a trip to Mayo in Jacksonville, but they wouldn’t even eval her.
    Your blog has been such an inspiration to us. It has let us know what is possible.
    To make a long story short (I know. Too late :-), she spent the last 4 weeks at FH South being evaluated. She still has a handful of outpatient tests to complete her eval and she needs to gain strength enough to survive the surgery, but it looks like she may be listed in a few weeks. Dr Gries is now her doctor as well.
    Jordan, I would love for me and my daughter to be able to text you privately, as there is so much more to her story.
    I understand that you cannot reveal your cell number in a public forum like this, so I will reveal mine, in hopes that you will contact us and establish a lifelong friendship with my daughter. You can text me at 386-801-1880. God bless you, Jordan. I include you in all of my prayers, along with my daughter.

  5. Jordan,
    I am Sheena’s cousin from Massachusetts, and I when you post on your blog, you are an inspiration to keep the fight going. Sending you prayers and good vibes and to whom ever that potential donor is and an advanced Thank You because your going to do great things.

  6. I’m not sure if you remember me but I went to lake Mary with you and we had Spanish class together. I just want to say that you are amazing. I can’t believe that you go through this every single day of your life. You say that the donor is strong but I say you are. Keep striving on and the life you deserve will come. I wish you all the best and I am sending good vibes you way always. 💕

  7. Hey! It’s one of your RT’s from that tiny, yet colorful little hospital. I’m sorry to hear about where your journey has taken you, but if anyone can walk this path with poise, grace, flare and humor, it’s you. Aaron and I are cheering you on and would love to know which hospital you ended up at so we could send something other than flowers. Keep fighting, warrior! You got this!

    Mary

Wanna say something? Cool! Go ahead! (: