Where I Stand

I’m sure many of you are tired of seeing political posts all over your social media. I’ve got bad news for you: It will be a long while before they end.

I have remained pretty quiet on social media in regards to this election. However, now that the votes have been cast and I’ve had a couple of days to gather my thoughts, I’ve decided it is time I speak.

Although it is far from the outcome that I wanted, I can accept that Donald Trump is the President-Elect. I have always had a respect for the office of the President. I understand the pressures, expectations, and the constant criticism that the job has. Even if I do not like the president or his (because there have only been male presidents) policies, I have refused to stoop to blatant bullying and name-calling. I hope and pray that Donald Trump makes decisions and pushes policies that are beneficial to the country without sacrificing the rights and lives of others. Do I think that Donald Trump should be president? Not particularly. Will I give him the benefit of the doubt until he (undoubtedly) proves me wrong? Yes. I will grudgingly accept him as the president until my fears are confirmed because I cannot judge something that has yet to happen.

However, these are things that I can not and will not accept. 

I refuse to accept any displays of racism, sexism, bigotry, homophobia, transphobia, xenophobia, etc. It does not matter who you are to me. You could be a stranger, a friend, a coworker, or a family member. I will call you out on the things that you say and do. You have a right to believe what you want, but I also have the right to call you out on your hatred and prejudice. Will it be uncomfortable for me? Most definitely. But discomfort to me is nothing when compared to the degradation of the person you are purposely hurting. You can claim it is a joke, or that I’m being too sensitive, or that political correctness is ruining this country. But all I hear is you value your own opinion over the happiness, safety, and respect of others. Personally, I find that incredibly selfish. I always believed that compassion and humanity was the thing that bonds us all together. It is what keeps us strong in the wake of tragedy. You may claim that they are just words, but I understand that words have power. Words matter. I have been using my words for three years to bring a sense of hope and light to my family and friends even when I didn’t necessarily believe them myself. My words matter and so do yours. Use your words to spread love not hate. Stand up for those who face prejudice or discrimination or hatred because they need your support. There will always be hatred in the world. It is a sad fact of life. But if I can provide comfort to someone who feels alone and threatened, I will.

This is my formal promise to anyone reading this that I will not sit idly by when I see an act of hatred. I do not care if you are making a rape joke, telling someone with a smile on your face that you hope they are legally in this country, threatening a woman wearing a hijab, or shouting at someone that their life doesn’t matter. I promise that I will stand up and use the words I have to make a difference. I am a very kind person, but I am not weak and I will not be polite if you are being rude. I was born with privilege. This is a fact. The circumstance of my birth has prevented me from experiencing what most marginalized groups in this country go through. It is impossible for me to fully understand the experiences of these people, but it does not make me any less empathetic or furious at the way people treat them. I will use the privilege I have to benefit those without, but I shouldn’t have to. You should simply listen to what black people, Muslims, women, Hispanics, the LGBTQ community, Indigenous people, disabled people, and any other minority group tell you. Actually listen to them and try to understand what they are feeling. When they tell you when something is offensive, don’t accuse them of overreacting or being sensitive. I’m pretty sure they know their lives and experiences better than you do. And, God forbid, you show a little compassion.

I could go on and on, but I think you all might understand my point now. I can deal with a lot things, but I refuse to deal with hate. So please, for both our sakes, keep that poison to yourself.

3 thoughts on “Where I Stand

  1. Jordan, we are very proud of you and your convictions. The world would be a better place if everyone felt the way you do. Love you. nana

Wanna say something? Cool! Go ahead! (: